Gosau – Holiday region Dachstein-Salzkammergu

Home of the Dachsteinkönig

The village of Gosau winds its way through a 10km-long high valley surrounded by the magnificent mountains of the Inner Salzkammergut. The highlights of the valley are the picturesque Gosau lake as well as the Dachstein with the Dachstein glacier, which stand at the end of the valley as an imposing natureal spectacle. In summer as well as in winter you will find here an idyllic place for your family holidays in Austria.

Gosau is in Upper Austria, Gmunden im Traunviertel county, inner Salzkammergut, on the edge of the Hallstatt-Dachstein-Salzkammergut UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Facts & figures about Gosau

Population: almost 2,000

Area: 113 km²

Height above sea level: 767 m

Longitude: 13.534297943115

Latitude: 47.582373469091

Gosau follows the course of the Gosaubach stream, winding east and south-east through the Gosautal valley to the Gosau basin, the centre of Gosau, where our Leading Family Hotel & Resort Dachsteinkönig is located. The Hintertal rises towards the Vordere Gosausee lake, a beautiful swimming lake overlooking the Dachstein. Directly opposite our hotel is the Hornspitz with the Hornspitzbahn cable car (in operation during the winter ski season).

The Gosaukamm in the west of Gosau, the Donnerkogel (2055 m) and the Grosswand (2415 m) provide a stunning backdrop, towering above the valley.

The southern section of the region is a designated nature conservation area and has been a European nature reserve since 2001.

Summer in Gosau

Your summer family holiday: hiking, climbing and taking mountain bikes up the mountain, with a stop at a quaint, alpine pasture – these are some intense nature experiences. Alternatively, take the Gosaukamm cable car from Hintertal up to the top of the Zwieselalm to find a wide variety of walking, climbing and bike routes.

The excursion train takes you to the Löckermoos natural wonder near the grindstone quarry. Löckermoos is well-known for its many fossil and mineral findings, which have revealed a huge amount of information about the history and formation of the Dachstein mountains.

Children will love the Urzeitwald (prehistoric park) with it activity stations, and the Schmiedbauern museum gives visitors an insight into how local people lived.

Kinderhotel, Austria, Summer – a perfect combination!

Experience more

Winter in Gosau

A fairy tale winter landscape is all part of the experience for a family holiday in the Alps. The majestic Dachstein mountains in Gosau will certainly exceed all expectations.

140 kilometres of ski slopes (the nearest ski lift is located directly opposite the hotel) and 50 kilometres of well-maintained cross-country ski trails (entrance behind the hotel) will appeal to the hearts of any winter sport enthusiast.

Skiing, snowboarding, cross-country skiing, snow-shoe hiking or just enjoying the alpine huts – anything is possible. The horse-drawn sleighs are a fantastic idea for an outing with the whole family.

Guided hiking tours can be arranged with our partner Checkpoint Sport, who is located directly in the hotel lobby.

Experience more

Gosau – Ferienregion Dachstein Salzkammergut

Die Heimat des Dachsteinkönigs

Gosau liegt in Oberösterreich (Bezirk Gmunden im Traunviertel), im Inneren Salzkammergut, am Rande des UNESCO-Weltkulturerbes Hallstatt-Dachstein Salzkammergut. Der Ort Gosau schlängelt sich durch ein 10km langes Hochtal, das von der herrlichen Bergwelt des Inneren Salzkammerguts umgeben ist. Die Highlights des Tales sind der malerische Gosausee sowie der Dachstein mit dem Dachsteingletscher, die das Ende des Tals mit einem imposanten Naturschauspiel markieren. Im Sommer wie im Winter finden Sie hier einen idyllischen Ort für Ihre Familienferien in Österreich.

Daten & Fakten zu Gosau

Einwohner: knapp 2.000

Fläche: 113 km²

Seehöhe: 767m

Längengrad: 13,534297943115

Breitengrad: 47,582373469091

Gosau folgt dem Verlauf des Gosaubachs und zieht sich durch ein Tal („Gosautal“) ostwärts bis südostwärts bis zum Gosauer Becken, dem Zentrum Gosaus, in dem sich unser Leading Family Hotel & Resort Dachsteinkönig befindet. Das Hintertal führt hinauf zum Vorderen Gosausee, einem schönen Badesee mit Aussicht auf den Dachstein. Direkt gegenüber unseres Hotels befindet sich der Hornspitz mit der Hornspitzbahn (Skibetrieb im Winter).

Der Gosaukamm im Westen von Gosau mit dem Donnerkogel (2.055 m) und der Großwand (2.415 m), bildet eine eindrucksvolle Kulisse, die das gesamte Tal überragt.

Die südlichen Teile des Gemeindegebietes gehören zu einem Naturschutzgebiet und sind seit 2001 als Europaschutzgebiet ausgewiesen.

Aktivitäten im Familienurlaub im Sommer

Ihr Familienurlaub-Sommer: Wandern, Klettern oder mit dem Mountainbike hinauf auf die Berge inklusive Einkehr in einer urige Alm – das sind besonders intensive Naturerlebnisse. Alternativ bringt Sie die Gosaukammbahn im Hintertal auf die beliebte Zwieselalm und ermöglicht Ihnen den Einstieg in zahlreiche Wander-, Kletter- und Bikerouten.

Mit dem Bummelzug erreicht man das Naturjuwel Löckermoos, in dessen Nähe sich die Schleifsteinbrüche befinden. Löckermoos ist bekannt für seine Fossilien- und Mineralien-Funde, die viel Wissen über die Entstehungsgeschichte des Dachsteingebirges preisgeben.

Kinder werden besonders den Gosauer Urzeitwald mit seinen Spielstationen lieben. Einen Einblick in die Lebensweise der Menschen zeigt das Heimatmuseum „Schmiedbauern“.

Mehr erfahren

Aktivitäten in den Familienskiferien im Winter

Eine märchenhafte Winterlandschaft gehört zu einem Familienurlaub in den Alpen einfach dazu und wird bei uns in Gosau vom majestätischen Dachsteingebirge noch getoppt.

140 Kilometer Skipisten (der nächste Skilift befindet sich direkt gegenüber des Hotels) und 50 Kilometer bestens präparierte Langlaufloipen (Einstieg hinter dem Hotel) lassen die Herzen aller Wintersportfans höher schlagen.

Skifahren, Snowboarden, Langlaufen, Schneeschuhwandern oder Hüttengaudi – alles ist hier möglich. Ein romantischer Ausflugstipp für die ganze Familie ist eine Fahrt mit dem Pferdeschlitten.

Mehr erfahren